Acnepocalypse

www.google.comEver since Lupita’s Oscar win and subsequent heartwarming speech, that girl has me validating all kinds of dreams, one of them being flawlessness. I had harbored dreams of becoming an astronaut but gravity kinda fizzled that light out! It’s a definite hell no! at this point.

Conversations between my friend Pam and I on WhatsApp usually go something like;

Me: Paaaaam!

Pam: Yes love? What?

Me: I have two of them….big painful pimples on my cheek.

Me: Bimples

Pam: So that’s what we are calling them now? Bimples?

Me: uh-huh!

Pam: OK….woiyeee!am so sorry…..I also have some on my forehead, cheeks and jaw line.

Me: Nooooo! whyyyyyy?

But I painfully digress, because believe me, it’s mostly a curse-filled rant that usually ends with us deciding thatย  this acne just won’t let us prosper, complete withย  emoji that make the whole conversation quite dramatic. Suffice to say, I have tried every remedy there is, I was desperate for a cure, I even put garlic on my face at one point ….yes you read right…I seasoned my face like a piece of steak and the results were rather disheartening.

We are well into our twenties and ever since we hit puberty, you guessed it….we have not prospered! We cannot seem to catch a break. Most times my face looked like the picture below, feel free to add enough black spots to create a constellation.

Acne-PapuleEvery time I would wash my face it would feel like sandpaper grazing my hand. I was tired and wrenched of emotion, It may not look as bad because am sure there are worse cases but it still made me avoid mirrors. After a long search and failed cures, I found a remedy that caters to my sensitive combination skin.

acne

The Pernex Ac Benzoyl Peroxide Gel recommended to me by a friend.Its recommended for Acne Vulgaris/ moderate acne. You can find it in most pharmacies/chemists at a price ranging from KES 300-400. Most reviews recommend a concentration of 2.5% but all I could get was the 5%. I used it for a week and noticed huge results, at first I broke out in big painful headless bumps but after some time my skin recovered and the acne cleared up. I however noticed that my complexion got darker during the time I was using it plus it resulted in hyper-pigmentation making the dark spots more visible and even transforming the pimples into unsightly dark spots. I stopped using it after a month and a half. I usually get hormonal acne around my menses but other than that the acne is not as bad as it used to be. I don’t know how it may work on other skin types but its worth a try.

Last but not least, The Johnson’s Oil Control Cleansing bar with Grape fruit extract is heaven-sent. It’s mildly scented and works efficiently in cleansing my skin. It can be purchased in cosmetic shops and supermarkets at around KES 180/- For now am content with controlling the condition.

It is said that there is no cure for acne, but I shall not give up! It has been a long journey, 13 years of skin problems, I can see the bridge of suppleness that will lead me into flawlessness, Oh vanity! why must thou exist only to torture us so?

6 thoughts on “Acnepocalypse

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

    • Beldina Malit!! is it you?! hehe.Pls follow my blog too,simply wiliza although i don’t write as much but will soon start! It’s Emma

Comment

